top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarta

Bobble Wash Cloth

Updated: Aug 28, 2020

The pattern idea for this sweet little wash cloth was born out of my current obsession with bobble stitch also known as puff stitch. I find bobbles extremely satisfying and addictive and I love how they add extra texture and density to my fabric making it very tactile and soft, perfect for wash cloth but other items too.


I created a video tutorial demonstrating how to crochet my bobble and you can find it on my You Tube Channel here https://youtu.be/-svTwCzXXJw or on Instagram linktree here https://www.instagram.com/martushkamakes/?hl=en



I personally like to double up my wash cloths so I made two in two different colours as you can see on the picture above and I joined them with one round of double crochet stitch remembering to crochet 3 dcs in each corner. Unless I use DK cotton in which case one layer is perfectly enough,



To make one wash cloth you will need about 20 grams of 4 ply or DK cotton yarn or linen would work really well too. I used Rowan Summerlite 4 ply cotton and size 3.5 mm crochet hook.

I used UK Crochet terms.

Abbreviations:

Ch – chain

Dc – double crochet (US single crochet)

Yoh – yarn over hook

St – stitch

B – Bobble Stitch *yoh, insert hook into st and pull up a loop, yoh, and draw through 2 loops. Repeat from * 5 times. You will have 6 loops on hook, yoh and draw through all six loops. I recorded a video tutorial on how to crochet a bobble also known as puff stitch.









Chain 30.


Chain 1 at the beginning of each row does NOT count as a stitch.


Row 1 (RS): dc in 2nd ch from hook and in each chain across.29 dcs


Row 2: ch 1, turn, dc in next 2 dc, *B in next dc, dc in next 3 dc. Rep from* across to last 3 stitches, B in next dc, dc in the last 2 stitches. 7 bobbles


Row 3: ch1, turn, dc in each st across 29 dc sts


Row 4: ch1, turn, dc in next 4 dc, *B in next dc, dc in next 3 dc. Rep from * across, dc in last stitch.(6 bobbles)


Row 5: rep row 3.


Repeat rows 2 – 5 a total of 8 times or as many times as you wish.

Just remember that if you start the bobble row with two double crochets you must end that row with two double crochets too. Equally if you are starting the bobble row with four double crochets you must have four double crochet at the end.


Border


One round of dcs in each row and each stitch all around with 3 dcs in each corner st.





1,769 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page